Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Seven to die for killing woman after rape

Staff Reporter :
A district tribunal on Tuesday sentenced seven people to death for killing a woman after rape in Akkelpur upazila of Joypurhat district in 2016.
Joypurhat Women and Child Repression Prevention Tribunal Judge Dr ABM Mahmudul Haque delivered the verdict while the convicts were present in the dock.
The convicted persons are Sohel Talukdar of Marma village, Afzal Hossain of Sonapara, Rahin Mia of Dewra village, Ferdous Ali of Sakhidarpara, Mojibar Rahman of Sonapara, Ruhul Amin of Jagoti and Azizar Rahman of Dewra under Akkelpur upazila of the district.
The tribunal also fined convicts Sohel and Ferdous Tk 5 lakh each and others Tk 1 lakh each, said Public Prosecutor Firoza Chowdhury.
According to the prosecution, the convicts picked up Aroti Rani, wife of  Ujjal Mahanta, a resident of a Dewra shelter centre, and raped her on September 8, 2016. The criminals fled the scene leaving the victim in critical condition.
Later, she died on way to a local hospital.
On September 10, Ujjal Mahanta filed a case against the seven convicts under the Women and Child Repression Prevention Act with Akkelpur police.