Friday, April 20, 2018

South Zone take 237-run lead against Central Zone

Prime Bank South Zone took a 237-run lead in the 2nd innings with four wickets remaining in hand against Walton Central Zone after the 3rd day's play of the 5th round four-day match of Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL) at Shaheed Kamruzzaman Stadium in Rajshahi on Thursday.
Mosaddek Hossain (22*) and Ziaur Rahman (17*) were at the crease in the 7th wicket stand when the bails were drawn for the 3rd day.
In reply to Central Zone's 302 runs in the 1st innings, South Zone -- having 191 runs in the 1st innings -- resumed the 2nd innings with overnight score of 50/1 in 19 overs and raised the tally to 348/6* in 83 overs at stumps spurred by Mohammad Mithun's century and Tushar Imran's half century on day-3.
Mithun and Tushar shared a partnership of 193 off 41.4 overs in the 4th wicket to carry the team total to 277/4 in 66.2 overs, starting from 84/3 in 25.4 overs, before Mithun (118 off 121b; 16x4; 1x6) was caught by Abu Hider off Mosharraf Hossain.
Tushar (88 off 141b; 10x4; 1x6) was caught behind by Irfan Sukkur off Mosharraf Hossain to end his innings on 310/6 in 72.3 overs.
Overnight batsman opener Anamul Haque (45 off 84b; 4x4; 1x6) fell short by five runs for a half century while another overnight batsman Imrul Kayes was out for 30 and skipper Nurul Hasan added run-a-ball 14.
Central Zone left-handed spin all-rounder Mosharraf Hossain (3/80) was the most successful wicket taker on the day, bowling out Anamul Haque on 78/2 in 24.5 overs before getting Mithun and Tushar.
Tanbir Hayder (2/61) and Ebadat Hossain (1/85) shared the wickets in the innings for Central Zone.
Brief Score
Prime Bank South Zone 1st innings: 191/10 in 49.5 overs; Fazle Mahmud 40, Nurul Hasan 28, Imrul Kayes 26, Mosaddek Hossain 21*, Ebadat Hossain 4/32, Mosharraf Hossain 4/ 57, Salauddin Sakil 2/50.
Prime Bank South Zone 2nd innings: 348/6* in 83 overs at stumps (overnight 50/1 in 19 overs); Mohammad Mithun 118, Tushar Imran 88, Anamul Haque 45, Imrul Kayes 30, Mosaddek Hossain 22*, Ziaur Rahman 17*, Nurul Hasan 14, Mosharraf Hossain 3/80, Tanbir Hayder 2/61, Ebadat Hossain 1/85.
Walton Central Zone 1st innings: 302/10 in 88.3 overs; Shadman Islam 93, Irfan Sukkur 54, Abdul Mazid 44, Abdur Razzak 6/106, Nayeem Hasan 3/83.