Wednesday, October 23, 2019 | ePaper

AL’s Nat’l Council on Dec 20, 21

  • Print

The Awami League will organise its 21st National Council on Dec 20 and 21 to elect new leaders.
General Secretary Obaidul Quader announced the dates after a meeting of its Central Working Committee chaired by party chief Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina at the Ganabhaban on Saturday night.
The Awami League holds its council every three years following its charter. Hasina was re-elected president of the party for the eighth consecutive term in the last council held on Oct 23 in 2016.
Quader replaced Syed Ashraful Islam as general secretary at the time.
The Awami League was formed on Jun 23 in 1949 at Rose Garden in Old Dhaka's KM Das Lane. Among those instrumental in its formation were Moulana Abdul Hamid Khan Bhashani, Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy and Shamsul Haq.
Throughout the 1950s, a young Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, who would come to be known as Bangabandhu, carried the party's organisation to every nook and corner of erstwhile East Pakistan.
Bhashani left the party in 1957 to form the National Awami Party.
Following the death of Suhrawardy in December 1963, Sheikh Mujib revived the Awami League, which had become part of the National Democratic Front after the imposition of martial law in Pakistan in October 1958.
In 1966 the Awami League announced the Six-Point programme for regional autonomy.
Bangabandhu was put on trial, along with 34 others, in the 'Agartala conspiracy case' in June 1968 but was released after a mass uprising in February 1969.
Under Bangabandhu's leadership, the Awami League won a majority of seats, 167 out of a total of 313, in Pakistan's first general election in December 1970.
Prevented from assuming power by the Yahya Khan military junta, the party was forced into an armed movement for independence by a brutal military crackdown in March 1971.
Afterwards Bangabandhu was arrested and flown to West Pakistan to stand trial on charges of waging war against Pakistan.
The War of Independence, led by Acting President Syed Nazrul Islam and Prime Minister Tajuddin Ahmad, culminated in the emergence of a sovereign Bangladesh in December 1971.
Bangabandhu returned from Pakistan in January 1972 and took over as prime minister.
He was killed with most of his family in a brutal military coup on 15 August, 1975.
Until Hasina was elected leader of the Awami League in May 1981, the party was divided into three factions, with no single powerful figure to lead it out of the doldrums.
Her arrival reunified the party and it went on to wage a long struggle against military dictatorships until December 1990.
The Awami League returned to power in 1996 after 21 years. After the five-year term, it lost the 2001 polls but returned to power with a huge majority in Dec 2008.
The party is now ruling the country for a third successive term after winning the December 2018 polls.

More News For this Category

Plunderers must be hauled up and way for change must be found out

Bangladesh Power Development Board has submitted a proposal for bulk power price hike to the Energy Regulatory Commission to offset its huge deficit that would stand at Tk 8,608

2.25km now visible as 15th span installed

2.25km now visible as 15th span installed

Staff Reporter :A total of 2.25 kilometres of Padma Bridge is now visible after its 15th span was installed at the Jajira point of Shariatpur district on Tuesday.This span, weighted

 Abrar called out of his room as per Monir's direction

Abrar called out of his room as per Monir's direction

Staff Reporter :SM Nasmus Sadat, one of the accused in Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology (BUET) student Abrar Fahad murder case, has confessed to a magistrate that he and

Biplob's brother in-law missing!

Biplob's brother in-law missing!

The brother-in-law of Biplob Chandra Baidya Shuvo, whose Facebook account was hacked to spread religious slur triggering deadly clashes in Bhola, has reportedly gone missing.Bidhan Majumder, 35, the husband of

Seven to die for killing woman after rape

Staff Reporter :A district tribunal on Tuesday sentenced seven people to death for killing a woman after rape in Akkelpur upazila of Joypurhat district in 2016.Joypurhat Women and Child Repression

Trudeau's Liberals win Canada vote, will form minority govt

Trudeau's Liberals win Canada vote, will form minority govt

AFP, Ottawa :Prime minister Justin Trudeau's Liberal Party held onto power in a nail-biter of a Canadian general election on Monday, but as a weakened minority government.Television projections as of

Papon sees conspiracy

Sports Reporter :President of Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) Nazmul Hassan Papon said, " We need to find out the conspirators." The BCB boss disclosed his opinion after the cricketers of

JCD showdown on DU

Staff Reporter :Two days after assault by the Bangladesh Chhatra League (BCL) at Madhu's Canteen, Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) leaders and workers entered Dhaka University campus and paraded the roads

Menon skips 14-party alliance meeting

Staff Reporter :Workers Party President Rashed Khan Menon, who said that people could not vote in 11th parliamentary polls, skipped the meeting of 14-party alliance. The meeting was held at

42 fishermen including 2 cops jailed for catching, carrying hilsa

Staff Reporter :Catching of mother hilsa fish is still going on despite the government's 22-day ban on netting any ilish across the country.At least 42 fishermen were arrested in connection