Monday, April 23, 2018 | ePaper

Sri Lanka bowl out Zimbabwe for 356 on Day 2

  • Print

Sri Lanka's Upul Tharanga bats during the second day's play of the only test cricket match between Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe in Colombo, Sri Lanka on Saturday.

AFP, Colombo :
Sri Lanka's Rangana Herath claimed five wickets in helping bowl out Zimbabwe for 356 on the second day of the one-off Test in Colombo on Saturday.
The visitors, who resumed the day on 344-8, survived just 4.4 overs in the morning session at R Premadasa Stadium. Overnight centurion Craig Ervine top-scored with his Test best of 160.
Herath registered his 30th five-wicket haul in Tests and returned figures of 5-116. Pacemen Lahiru Kumara and Asela Gunaratne each took two wickets.
Scoreboard at the end of Zimbabwe's first innings on the second day of the one-off Test against Sri Lanka in Colombo on Saturday:
Zimbabwe 1st innings (overnight: 344-8; C. Ervine 151 not out, D. Tiripano 24 not out)
H. Masakadza c Mendis B Herath     19
R. Chakabva b Herath     12
T. Musakanda c Dickwella b Kumara     6
C. Ervine c Perera b Kumara 160
S. Williams c Gunaratne b Perera     22
S. Raza lbw b Herath     36
P. Moor c Kumara b Gunaratne     19
M. Waller b Herath     36
G. Cremer b Gunaratne     13
D. Tiripano c Karunaratne b Herath     27
C. Mpofu not out     0

Extras (w1, nb5) 6
Total (all out, 94.4 overs) 356
Fall of wickets: 1-23 (Chakabva), 2-38 (Masakadza), 3-38 (Musakanda), 4-70 (Williams), 5-154 (Raza), 6-195 (Moor), 7-260 (Waller), 8-282 (Cremer), 9-356 (Tiripano), 10-356 (Ervine)
Bowling: Lakmal 14-1-58-0, Kumara 17.4-2-68-2 (w1); Herath 32-4-116-5;
Perera 24-0-86-1 (nb1), Gunaratne 7-0-28-2 (nb4)
Sri Lanka: D. Chandimal, U. Tharanga, D. Karunaratne, K. Mendis, A.
Mathews, A. Gunaratne, N. Dickwella, D. Perera, R. Herath, S. Lakmal, L.
Toss: Zimbabwe
Umpires: Ian Gould (ENG), Nigel Llong (ENG)
TV umpire: Chettithody Shamshuddin (IND)
Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG).

More News For this Category

BCB to send full-strength team to India to play T20 series against Afghanistan

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) will send a full-strength national squad to India to play a three-match T20 series against Afghanistan in next June.Chief selector of Bangladesh Cricket team Minhajul Abedin

6th Round of Bangladesh Cricket League begins today

The 6th and final round of four-day first class cricket -the 6th Bangladesh Cricket League (BCL)--begins today (Monday) in separate venues across the country.Defending champions and league leader BCB North

Sarfraz has high hopes for young Pakistan in England Tests

AFP, Lahore :Pakistan cricket captain Sarfraz Ahmed said Saturday he had high hopes for his young and inexperienced side on their tough twin tours of Ireland and England starting this

Gayle says 'nothing to prove' after IPL ton

AFP, New Delhi :Veteran West Indies batsman Chris Gayle, who struggled to find an Indian Premier League team, smashed the first century of this season on Thursday to prove

North Zone crush East Zone by innings and 28 runs

Holders Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) North Zone brightened their chance to retain the league title with a convincing innings and 28-run victory over Islami Bank East Zone on the 3rd

South Zone take 237-run lead against Central Zone

Prime Bank South Zone took a 237-run lead in the 2nd innings with four wickets remaining in hand against Walton Central Zone after the 3rd day's play of the 5th

Southern Uni emerge group champions, BGC Trust runners-up

UNB, Chattogram :Southern University emerged Group A champions and BGC Trust University finished group runners-up to reach the semifinals of the Dakhina Inter-University T20 Cricket Tournament in the port city

Mashrafe signs deal with IPDC Finance

Bangladesh cricket team ODI side captain and chairman of the Narail Express Foundation (NEF) Mashrafe Bin Mortaza signed a three-year partnership agreement with IPDC Finance Ltd at a city hotel

BCB send Papon's name for next ACC President

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB), President Nazmul Hasan Papon disclosed to media after BCB board meeting on Thursday evening at Sher-e-Bangla national Cricket Stadium that his name was sent as a

Kohli downbeat despite smashing IPL run record

AFP, New Delhi :Virat Kohli smashed 92 off 62 balls to become the highest run-scorer in Indian Premier League history but his efforts could not halt Royal Challengers Bangalore's slump