Saturday, June 23, 2018 | ePaper

Science Fair at NMST concludes

  • Print

Group photo of winners along with the guests at a 3-day Science Fair at National Museum of Science and Technology ended on Saturday.

Campus Report :
A 3-day long Science Fair at the National Museum of Science and Technology (NMST) ended on Saturday. Young scientists from all over the country participated in the fair with their projects - 64 participants under Senior Group, 64 under Junior Group, and 50 under Special Group. The theme of this year's Science Olympiad was 'Science and Technology for a Developed Future'.
The closing ceremony was presided by Swapan Kumar Roy, DG, National Museum of Science and Technoloy. Iti Rani Poddar, Secretary in charge, Ministry of Science and Technology, attended the occasion as chief guest. Other guests delivering their speeches are Md. Manzur Rahman, Sukalyan Bachar, Emdad Hossain Bhuiyan, Professor Abdus Samad Mondal, Dr. Syed Aminul Haque Shameem, Professor Amir Hossain, ZJillur Rahman Shawon, Chandrika Mondal, etc.
 The winners from the Junior Group in the Innovative Science Category are MM Sadman Shafi (Comilla Zilla School), Md. Syedul Mustayin (Hatibandha SS High School, Lalmonirhat), Hira Dutta (Chittagong Government High School), Tasabil Islam Mazumder (Chagalnaiya Pilot Uccha Bidyalay, Feni), and Kazi Rumayet Islam (Biswha Zaker Manzil Government High School, Faridpur).
 Winners from the Senior Group are: Md. Mozammel Haque (Al Amin Academy School and College, Chandpur), Mustavi Rahman Tashin (Millenium Star School and College, Rangpur), Md. Mosaddek Hossain (Adarsha Mahavidyalaya, Dinajpur), Junaid Ibn Atik (Rajbari Government College), and Shariful Islam (Feni Government College).
 Winners from the Special Group are: Md. Rabius Sani (Nilfamari Science Club), Jahedul Hasan (Chittagong Science and Technology Institute), Jannatul Naim (Boson Club, Mymensingh), Md. Abdus Samad (Sputnik Science Club, Rajshahi), Md. Yahya Molla (Lipton Science Club, Gaibandha).
A Science Olympiad has been held for the first time on the occasion of the National Science and Technology Week. This year's Olympiad had nearly 150 participants. The five winners from the Senior Group are: Md. Bakhtiar Mahbub Murad (MC College Sylhet), Rifat Ahmed Bhadra (Kumarkhali College, Kushtia), Md. Shakil Rana (Sandhani School and College, Meherpur), Md. Abu Sayem (Aftabuddin School and College, Kishoreganj), and Rimsa Anjum Keya (Cantonment Public School and College, Nilfamari).
Winners from the Junior Group are: Soumik Sarkar Sajal (Mahadevpur Sarbamangala Pilot High School, Naogaon), Md. Asif Mostofa (Jessor Education Board School and College), Fariha Binte Fulzar (Bogra Government Girls High School), Alif Sanjana Rumu (Faridpur Government Girls High School), and Md. Isa Bin Maksud Mihan (Bangladesh Navy School and College, Chittagong).
The chief guest of the closing session handed over the awards to the winners in the closing ceremony. Today morning, Yeafes Osman, Honourable Minister of Science and Technology, visited a few stalls in the science fair.

More News For this Category

Tk 1862cr for development of second JnU campus

Rabiul alam :Jagannath University (JnU) authorities have submitted the Development Project Proposal (DPP) for the acquisition and development of the second campus of JnU.  In this, the cost of

5 IU students nominated for PM Gold Medal

Campus Desk :A total of five students from different faculties of Islamic University (IU) have been selected for the Prime Minister Gold Medal for their outstanding academic results.Prime minister

DU Pro-VC greeted by CoU Syndicate

Campus Desk :Vice Chancellor of Comilla University (CoU) greeted Prof Dr Mohammad Samad for his being appointed as Pro-VC (Administration) of Dhaka University. Prof Samad is the Syndicate member

SEU Social Welfare Club shares Eid joy with orphans

SEU Social Welfare Club shares Eid joy with orphans

Social Welfare Club of Southeast University (SEU) organized a program for distributing Eid Clothing's amongst underprivileged children's as a part of their social responsibility. The program was organized at the

Sherlock Holmes Week observed

Campus Report :The British Council Cultural Centre celebrated the 159th birth anniversary of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle this year in its Fuller Road office in Dhaka University area. Over

5 CoU students to get PM Gold Medal 2017

Jahed Nohim, CoU :A total of five students from different faculties of Comilla University (CoU) have been selected for the Prime Minister Gold Medal 2017 for their outstanding academic

MyStudy app for SSC students

Campus Report :The British Council has recently partnered with the country's leading telecommunication company Grameenphone and Durbin Labs, an institution working for the development of digital education in Bangladesh,

DIU observes World Environment Day-2018

DIU observes World Environment Day-2018

Campus Report :Department of Environmental Science and Disaster Management (ESDM) of Daffodil International University (DIU) observed 'World Environment Day-2018' recently with the theme "Beat Plastic Pollution". To mark the

12 RU, RUET students to get PM Gold medals

Campus Desk :Twelve students of Rajshahi University (RU) and Rajshahi University of Engineering and Technology (RUET) were nominated for the Prime Minister's Gold Medal- 2017 for brilliant results in

Russian team meets DU VC

Campus Report :Director of Russian Centre of Science and Culture in Dhaka Alexander P Demin called on Dhaka University (DU) Vice-Chancellor (VC) Prof Dr Md. Akhtaruzzaman at DU on