Tuesday, October 17, 2017 | ePaper

Shanto secures second win for Abahani in Premier Cricket

  • Print

Nazmul Hossain Shanto scored a magnificent match-winning century helped defending champions to post an overwhelming seven-wicket victory over Partex Sporting Club in the second round of Premier Division Cricket League held on Monday at BKSP ground no 3 in Savar.
Chasing a winning target of 235 runs set by Partex, Abahani Limited hardly had to sweat as they comfortably reached home making 237 in 38.3 overs with seven wickets in hand.
Shanto, led from the front, to score 101 runs off 109 balls and paired 150 runs third wicket stand with Mahmudullah (77) to take his team towards the victory, after Abahani lost both their openers in the beginning of their chase.
Shanto eventually not out with five boundaries and four over boundaries during his 109-ball stay on the crease along with Mosaddek Hossain who was unbeaten with 23 runs.
Mamun Hossain, Hafiz Al Hasan and Rajibul Islam shated one wicket each for Partex.
Shanto of Abahani Limited was named the player of the match for his impressive match-winning century.
Earlier, batting first after winning the toss, Partex Sporting Club posted a decent total of 234 for 7 from their allotted 50 overs.
Partex faced early batting jolt as they lost both their openers - Irfan Sukkur (1) and Sajjad Hossain (44) inside eight overs.
However middle order batsman Jubair Ahmed rescued Partex from early collapse with a responsible unbeaten fifty that helped Partex to cross over two hundred runs landmark. He smashed two boundaries and one over boundary during his 69-ball stay on the crease.
Besides, Indian recruit Yaspal Singh (33) Tariq Ahmed (25) and Zakaria Masud (25) were the other notable scorers for Partex.
Shuvagata Hom and Mohammad Saifuddin shared two wickets each conceding 45 and 56 runs respectively.

More News For this Category

Super league of Women's Premier Cricket begins today

The four-team super league of the Dhaka Premier Division Women's Cricket begins on Tuesday (Oct 17) with two matches billed for the opening day at two BKSP venues in Savar.Dhaka

National Cricket League

Delwar's 6-wicket secures emphatic win for Rajshahi BSS, DhakaA six-wicket haul by Delwar Hossain helped Rajshahi Division to earn an overwhelming an innings and 13 runs victory over Chittagong Division

Shakib reaches 5000-run mark in ODI

Shakib reaches 5000-run mark in ODI

BSS, Dhaka :Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh, the world's number-one all-rounder in all the three formats of cricket, reached 5000-run mark in ODI while playing against South Africa in

ICC unveils long-awaited Test championship

AFP, Wellington :The International Cricket Council unveiled a long-awaited, nine-nation Test championship Friday in a bid to preserve the five-day format's status following the rapid growth of Twenty20.The Test

Bangladesh make 255

Sports Reporter :Bangladesh made 255 runs playing 48.1 overs in their innings against Cricket South Africa Invitation XI in the one-day warm-up match at Bloemfontein in South Africa on Thursday.Bangladesh

England can't win Ashes without Stokes: Waugh

Test great Steve Waugh says England can't win the Ashes without Ben Stokes and the bad boy allrounder would have been dumped immediately if he was Australian.England vice-captain Stokes was

Mashrafe presence to rejuvenate Tigers

It is expected that Mashrafe Mortaza will be able to rejuvenate the embattled Bangladesh team now touring South Africa after having been capitulated by the home side in the test

Ireland to make Test debut against Pakistan in 2018

AFP, Dublin :Ireland will play their first ever Test match against Pakistan on home soil next May, the country's cricket chiefs announced on Thursday.Afghanistan and Ireland became full members of

5th round of NCL begins tomorrow

The fifth round of four-day 19th Walton Smart Fridge National Cricket league begins on Friday (October 13) at four separate venues across the country.On the day in tier 1 matches,

South African T20 league postponed until 2018

AFP, Johannesburg :South Africa's planned T20 Global League has been postponed for a year, which could leave a raft of players seeking compensation.The decision was taken at a joint Cricket